Sharing my new found Studio Ghibli love!

Waiting for Ruroni Kenshin movie (Part 3) is frustrating…extremely frustrating! You know that the DVD’s going to come out in January/February, but still you google it every day. Or is it just me?

1 (2)

Oh Kenshin…what have you done to a poor soul like me??

So, while I was waiting for the red haired Takeru san to drop by in Amazon, I decided to explore some other Japanese movies which I might have omitted in the past. And lo behold I hit jackpot!! I think Am lucky in that way. Good movies always find me.

I have no idea in which world I was living so far, to not know about Mr. Hayao Miyazaki. I just finished watching some of his movies this weekend and I think he very quietly crept into my most favorite directors list.

For other ignorant people like me, Hayao Miyazaki is a Japanese film director, Animator, Manga artist, illustrator, producer and screenwriter (As per Wikipedia). He co-founded Studio Ghibli with Isao Takahata, another genius Director/Animator.

If you ask me, even though I liked all his movies I saw so far, the one I can’t forget about is Princess Mononoke. What a brilliant movie! And let me tell you, it’s not some little kid’s anime.

Princess+mononoke+is+by+far+my+favourite+ghibli+film+_6066e326b683f19669ad74508c26ab10

The movie concept is the age old fight between Man and Nature, but it’s dealt with a charm which is beyond its years. Usually such movies show a lopsided opinion, but Princess Mononoke, unlike others is not a black and white movie. There are no clear bad guys in the movie. Yes, there are people who make mistakes, but they learn their lesson in the end. Ashitaka, the young hero is one of the best fictional characters I’ve ever come across. He wants to protect nature, but he doesn’t give up on humans either. To add to the cinematic effect, the background score by Joe Hisaishi is absolutely mesmerizing.

List of Ghibli films I loved:

  • Princess Mononoke (Rating: 10/10)
  • Castle in the sky (Rating: 7.5/10)
  • My neighbour Totoro (Rating: 8/10)
  • Kiki’s delivery service (Rating: 7/10)
  • Whisper of the heart (Rating: 9/10)
  • Spirited away (Rating: 7/10)
  • Howl’s moving Castle (Rating: 7.5/10)
  • Arrietty (Rating: 8/10)
  • Ocean Waves (Rating: 6.5/10)

His movies are not everyone’s cup of tea, so I cannot guarantee your enjoyment factor. But, it’s definitely worth checking out. Who knows maybe you’ll end up being a Forever Studio Ghibli fan!!

PS: It’s always better to watch these movies in Japanese with subtitles.

Leave a Reply

